M.A.S.T

About M.A.S.T

The purpose of MAST is to introduce people who are suffering from anxiety and depression to mindfulness practices that they can build upon over the four sessions and gradually feel more balanced and present in their lives. 

SESSION 1: MINDFULNESS AND THE “WINDOW OF TOLERANCE”

In session 1 we teach about mindfulness and self regulation through the concept of the “window of tolerance”. Mindfulness does not mean reaching a calm and peaceful state, even though it is nice when that happens. Mindfulness is the capacity to observe our present moment experience, be it pleasant, unpleasant or neutral. We can be in mindful state only when we are within our window of tolerance, with the ability to observe our thoughts, feelings and emotions as they are in the moment, including the difficult ones. Over time, the ability to stay in present with our feelings becomes easier and we can learn to ride the waves of our emotions, rather than get stuck in reactivity and survival mode.


SESSION 2: MINDFULNESS AND THE BRAIN

In session 2 we build upon the mindfulness practices of session 1 by introducing a 10-minute breath practice. Paying attention to the physical sensations of breath and the rhythm of the breath helps to focus the mind and increase awareness of the body, creating an overall sense of calm that the brain remembers and learns.
Learning about how the brain functions can be incredibly helpful for those suffering from mental health problems. MAST provides basic psychoeducation on the three main parts of the brain and how they function under stress and, more optimally, in a mindful, present state.

 

SESSION 3: MINDFULNESS AND EMOTIONS

By session 3 we can now build even more resilience by learning to sit with emotions in the meditation practice mindfulness of emotions. Up until now the priority it to learn to stabilize the mind by being present with the body and the breath. The next step is to turn awareness to the experience of emotions as they arise and feel them in the body.

SESSION 4: DEVELOPING AN ACTION PLAN FOR SELF CARE

Session 4 wraps up the MAST program by giving people an opportunity to evaluate the benefits of their mindfulness practice over the past 3 weeks. The theme of session 4 is decreasing stress and developing an action plan for self care. We look at how to maintain a good balance of every day activities by decreasing causes of stress and increasing resources for self care. Most important is that we develop an attitude of compassion and kindness towards ourselves in developing this action plan. 

 

 

View a list of our upcoming workshops

M.A.S.T

À propos de MAST

Le MAST a pour but d’initier les personnes souffrant d’anxiété et de dépression à des pratiques de pleine conscience sur lesquelles elles peuvent s’appuyer au cours des quatre séances et se sentir progressivement plus équilibrées et plus présentes dans leur vie.

 
Séance 1 : La pleine conscience et la « fenêtre de la tolérance »

Au cours de la séance 1, nous enseignons également la pratique de pleine conscience et de stabilisation à travers le concept de la « fenêtre de tolérance ». La pleine conscience ne signifie pas atteindre un état de calme et de sérénité, bien que ce soit agréable quand nous y parvenons. La pleine conscience est la capacité d’observer notre expérience du moment présent, qu’elle soit agréable, désagréable ou neutre. Nous ne pouvons être en état de pleine conscience que lorsque nous sommes dans notre fenêtre de tolérance, avec la capacité d’observer nos pensées, nos sentiments et nos émotions, même les plus difficiles, tels qu’ils sont dans le moment présent.

Séance 2 : La pleine conscience et le cerveau

Au cours de la séance 2, nous nous appuyons sur les pratiques de pleine conscience de la séance 1 en introduisant un exercice de respiration de dix minutes. Le fait de prêter attention aux sensations physiques de la respiration et au rythme respiratoire aide à concentrer l’esprit et à accroître la conscience du corps, ce qui crée un sentiment global de calme que le cerveau apprend et garde en mémoire.

 

Le fait d’apprendre comment le cerveau fonctionne peut être incroyablement utile aux personnes qui souffrent de problèmes de santé mentale. MAST fournit une psychoéducation de base sur les trois principales parties du cerveau et la façon dont elles fonctionnent en situation de stress et, de manière plus optimale, dans un état conscient et présent.

Séance 3 : La pleine conscience et les émotions

Au cours de la séance 3, nous pouvons maintenant créer encore plus de résilience en apprenant à accueillir des émotions dans la pratique de méditation axée sur la pleine conscience des émotions. Jusqu’à présent, la priorité est d’apprendre à stabiliser l’esprit en ne faisant qu’un avec le corps et la respiration. L’étape suivante consiste à prendre conscience de l’expérience des émotions au fur et à mesure qu’elles se manifestent et à les ressentir dans son corps.

Séance 4 : Élaboration d’un plan pour l’autovalorisation

La séance 4 récapitule le programme MAST en donnant aux gens l’occasion d’évaluer les avantages de leur pratique de la pleine conscience au cours des trois dernières semaines. La courte durée du programme est généralement suffisante pour permettre aux participants d’évaluer si la pleine conscience est une pratique bénéfique à intégrer dans leur vie et d’élaborer un plan de pratique continue et d’autovalorisation.

Consultez la liste des ateliers offerts prochainement